PDA

Просмотр полной версии : At first sight

ScratchyClaws
23.04.2007, 23:30
Hmmm... Being an English teacher I suggest to change

Obligatory to read! Everyone reads this announcement, especially before asking for help!

to -

Urgent! Read before asking for help!

Before asking for help read carefully and follow completely the forum rules. If your application does not meet the requirements, it will be the last to be processed or may not be processed at all. (from the forum rules)
I would suggest changing to

Carefully follow the forum rules before asking for help. If your request doesn't fulfil the requirements of the forum, it will be the last to be processed or may not be processed at all.

Unfortunately I don't have much free time. But I'll try to read and comment from time to time...

NickGolovko
24.04.2007, 06:28
'Urgent'? What's urgent in it? :)
Fulfill is not analogous to 'meet requirements'... :)

Rene-gad
24.04.2007, 09:58
А fulfill - выполнять, а не отвечать требованиям... :)
to fulfil (a condition) - выполнить (условие) ;)

ScratchyClaws
24.04.2007, 10:14
как бы это сформулировать...
когда читаешь этот текст, понятно что писал его русскоговорящий человек...И насколько я помню, носители языка стараются формулировать свои мысли максимально кратко.
можно вместо Urgent поставить Important, но Obligatory to read! имхо не оч. смотрится...
Отвечать требованиям, выполнять правила... смысл в данном контексте очень близкий)

When I read this text I have a feeling that it was written by Russian person. As far as I remember English-speaking people try to pharase their ideas as briefly as possible.
As to Urgent! it is possible to use Important, 'cause I don't likу how Obligatory to read! sounds...

ScratchyClaws
24.04.2007, 10:58
One more idea (by my friend) -

You MUST read this ad especially before asking for help (aid)!!

NickGolovko
24.04.2007, 11:06